Tissus en crin de cheval tissé par John Boyd Textiles

Fondée en 1837, la société John Boyd Textile est fière de perpétuer depuis lors la tradition du tissage du crin de cheval. Ses tissus sont tissés sur des métiers d’origine, selon des techniques inchangées depuis 1870, avec les plus belles sélections de queues de cheval provenant de chevaux vivants, sur chaîne de coton ou de soie.

Les tissus de crin étaient utilisés à l’origine par de célèbres créateurs de mobiliers tels que Chippendale, Hepplewhite, Lutyens, et Rennie Mackintosh. De nos jours, ces tissus restent parfaitement adaptés à toutes les formes de mobilier; antiquité, classique ou contemporain. Ils sont reconnus pour leur inégalable brillance, leur grande résistance et leur facilité d’entretien et sont régulièrement utilisés pour les plus prestigieux projets de décoration à travers le monde.

John Boyd Textiles est l’une des toutes dernières entreprises au monde à produire de telle étoffe. Cette collection de tissus de grande tradition intéresse également les designers les plus contemporains pour ses qualités exceptionnelles et son étonnante modernité, de nombreux dessins et de nouveaux coloris ayant été récemment ajoutés à la collection.

John Boyd Textiles – Short Film

Diary

Focus
15 – 20 September 2019

Paris Design Week
17 – 20 January 2020

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: Access Token for johnboydhorsehairfabric is not valid or has expired. Feed will not update.

There's an issue with the Instagram Access Token that you are using. Please obtain a new Access Token on the plugin's Settings page.
If you continue to have an issue with your Access Token then please see this FAQ for more information.

Horsehair fabrics woven by John Boyd Textiles

First established in Castle Cary in 1837, John Boyd Textiles is proud to maintain the tradition of horsehair weaving. Horsehair fabrics are woven with the finest and best quality tail hair from live horses and cotton or silk warps using the original looms and techniques from 1870.

Horsehair fabric was originally used by famous furniture designers such as Chippendale, Hepplewhite, Lutyens, and Rennie Mackintosh, and are ideally suited to most forms of upholstered furniture; antique, classical, and contemporary. To this day, horsehair fabrics are widely recognized for their unequalled lustre, durability, care properties, and value. Horsehair fabrics have been used with many prestigious projects throughout the world.

John Boyd Textiles is now one of the last companies in the world still weaving hair cloth. Although the historical traditional fabrics are still woven today, contemporary designers also appreciate the unique qualities of horsehair fabrics. Many new designs and colours have been added to the collection in recent years.

John Boyd Textiles – Short Film

Upcoming Events

Focus
15 – 20 September 2019

Paris Design Week
17 – 20 January 2020